Friday, March 31, 2017

DHS Marks California, Connecticut as Sanctuary States

The Department of Homeland Security has designated the states of California and Connecticut to their list of areas where law enforcement decline to assist Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

Law enforcement in those states are able to decline ICE requests to detain illegal immigrants who’ve been arrested for unrelated crimes due to “Trust Acts,” though they are still required to detain illegal immigrants with criminal records.

Both California and Connecticut agree to comply with ICE detainers for illegal immigrants who fall within certain criteria, including gang members and convicted felons.

Since President Donald Trump signed Executive Order 13768, the DHS is required to release weekly reports on areas of the country where law enforcement refuse to cooperate with ICE.

According to this report, Connecticut law enforcement have ceased cooperating with detainers based “solely on the basis of a final order of removal, unless accompanied by a judicial warrant, or past criminal conviction, unless the conviction is for a violent felony.”

“ICE is continually reviewing this report. It’s a living document, and as we become aware of more public-facing policies, more jurisdictions will be added to the list,” an ICE spokesperson told The Washington Times. 

In a press release earlier this month, Rep. Luis GutiĆ©rrez, D-Ill., decried the list as an attempt “to paint all immigrants as killers and rapists. Trump and his team incorrectly see Fourth Amendment policies that require warrants to hold prisoners for the Feds as a threat to public safety, but the reality is that in most cities, the police have found that acting as deportation police makes it harder to keep their cities safe.”

Source: newsmax

No comments:

Post a Comment